Mrs. Sandman

Dearest Readers, I missed my calling. Let me just express how thrilled, positively thrilled  I am with our refinished hardwood floors! And allow me to say I loved every minute of the project. What a perfect way to begin our Remodel Extravaganza!

The first time we stepped into this house, we were captivated immediately with the natural beauty of the hardwood.

Photo Credit: My Perfect Life

Photo Credit: My Perfect Life

Irresistible!! Was I dismayed to find that the hired help in the employ of the selling agent had absolutely destroyed the wonderful flooring? Not really.

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

To be honest, I was glad to find the flooring in worse shape than when we viewed the home– otherwise we’d never have known the joys which come from breathing fine dust of aged 1949 flooring as we sanded

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

and sanded

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

and sanded just a little more, because when one has an unlimited amount of time and money, it really makes sense to go the whole nine yards. (Note: I was not sponsored by Kenmore to include this vacuum in my post.)

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

And continued to sand, and do you know that inhaling said dust is said to aid in the development of young children’s brain cells? Which is why we made sure our pre-toddler was present, of course, for all stages of the project–it was so convenient to bring her with us every time we jumped into the job.

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

My favorite part of refurbishing the flooring was watching those thirsty boards soak up the delicious, beautiful stain –aptly named Gunstock 351. And polyurethane is quite DIY friendly these days. Lambskin rollers? Those are for the birds! Paintbrush bristles embedded in a finish add depth and texture to a room.

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

I think you’ll agree we managed quite well without the fancy tools–that’s what this remodel extravaganza is all about! Why pay someone else when you can half-ass a job yourself, for less? THAT is the true spirit of DIY.

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

I’m going to have DLH refinish all the wooden stocks of his favorite small arms

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

so that they’ll compliment our amazing new floors! I haven’t yet decided if I want to keep our rugged rustic chic theme in the new haven.

What do you think? Is it time to try something new? Do let me know.

Leave a Reply

