To Market, To Market

When the weather is still too dreary for gathering wildflowers to press for shadowbox art, and one is still wondering if the white-collared individuals shall deign to process one’s lowly mortgage, what is left to do?

If you were a lifestyle blogger, how would you spend a March weekend?

There’s no question:  at the flea markets!

Anyone who runs a household knows what a pleasure it is to spend one’s free time  among the crowds on a Saturday, shopping. There’s something innate to one’s decorista soul that thrills while prowling through the booths in the search of that single forgotten vintage-chic cast-off cast-iron home-good that…. when featured on one’s blog, will set one apart from all the other lifestyle blogs  who are featuring similarly unique vintage-chic home-good discoveries.

With 1,000 square feet of new home to fill with decor, I knew it was time to start the treasure hunt! Amassing decor for the Perfect Home necessitates a visit to the finest of market and antique shoppes: (please note it must be a shoppe, time is wasted at a shop)

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Dear readers, twas akin to entering Ali Baba’s cave… untouched by the forty thieves! You would squeal in delight at the glittering spread of home ornaments, just waiting to be placed in a cherished vignette atop  repurposed, rustic cabinetry in my Cozy Nest!

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

I didn’t know which way to turn!!

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

I’m completely re-inspired by this bovine collection, I can’t decide if I should use these for my kitchen or for the guest bedroom re-do?

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

So much uniqueness in one place! A wealth of DIY projects waiting to be upcycled! I don’t know what this is –but it’s going to be part of my new foyer display!

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Winding my way through rows upon rows of vintage chinoiserie, I stumbled upon these little wonders:

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

They’re going to look so adorable in the nursery! Sweet dreams, B&C!

This plaque was a complete steal, and is going to fit right in with our Rugged Rustic Chic decor. Did I mention DLH is part, um, ethnicity of the individual astride the equine below?

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

But I’ve saved the best for last, dear readers. The culmination of an arduous day searching for the single most unique find of all:

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Have I expressed just how thrilled I am to have moved to this town? With my weekly spree at the flea markets, I will never need to enter a Home Goods ever again. Which is fortunate as there simply isn’t one for miles and miles! Positively pioneer.

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

Photo credit: My Perfect Life

(This gorgeous vase will become the soap dish in the new powder room)

What are your favorite flea market finds? What was your greatest triumph in up-cycling your treasures? Do let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

